Home > Uncategorized > Hello!

Hello!

I’m tired of cookbooks. I am too poor, and too lazy. Like most, pretty much any time I need a meal the first thing I do is consider how long it will take me to get to the nearest drive-thru. Now and then I may actually pull out the lunch meat to make a sandwich, but that’s about as far as I go in the kitchen. I have always wanted to do more, but have never made the effort.

Over the course of the last year I have begun to realize how much money my wife and I actually spend on all this crappy food. McDonald’s, Wendy’s, and Smithfield’s (a local BBQ fast food joint) have taken too much of my hard earned dough. I’m done driving through to exchange my cash for fatty, salty, and occasionally nasty slop.

One day, while forcing down the remainder of my Baconator I started to add up how much it cost to feed my wife and I. I figure I eat fast food for five lunches a week. Let’s assume each of those lunches cost five dollars (I’m sure you agree that is a conservative guess). Add in another twenty five dollars a week for my wife’s lunches, and we are already up to two hundred dollars a month. About once a week my lovely wife and I go for a pizza, maybe some gyros, or if we are feeling frisky, a dinner at the chain restaurant. We do this probably once a week or so. We spend around thirty dollars on each of these meals. Our remaining meals consist of things like toast, cereal, sandwiches, leftovers and frozen dinners. When you add up all the lunches and dinners out, we come up with three hundred and twenty dollars. Then you tack on about two hundred and fifty dollars a month spent at the grocery for mac and cheese, hamburger helper, deli meat and other lazy man cooking supplies, we come up with the magic number of… FIVE HUNDERD AND SEVENTY DOLLARS!!! I know that’s not the highest monthly food bill ever, but to feeding a small family of two, it’s much too high in my book.

I have decided to fight back. I am going to learn to cook. I’m going to be looking for simple recipes. I don’t want to make anything that requires ingredients I can’t find at a basic grocery store. I will also be looking for dishes that don’t take a ton of work. I don’t want to stand in front of an oven all day long just to say I saved some money. And finally, I will try to make meals that taste good. No one wants to eat plain rice and boiled chicken breast for dinner every night. I will post the recipes I try, good or bad, and a little discussion about how it all worked out.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

