Home > recipe > Easy Roast Veggies

Easy Roast Veggies

Looking for a simple way to use up some of the extra vegatables you have laying around the house?

Today I tried roasting some veggies after tossing them with olive oil, dried thyme, salt, pepper, and a touch of paprika. The preperation was very simple. I used potatoes, broccoli, purple bell pepper, carrots, onion, and garlic. I chopped everything into medium peices and put everything into a large bowl. I poured the olive oil over the vegetables, probably about 2 tablespoons if I had to guess. Added the spices; 1/2 table spoon of dried thyme, 1/2 tablespoon dried parsley, 1teaspoon paprika, 2 teaspoons salt, and 2 teaspoons pepper. My measurements are all estimates, I belong to the “dash of pepper, pinch of paprika” school of cooking.

I dumped all the vegetables into a Pyrex baking dish, pre heated the oven to 425 and put the dish on the middle rack. I left it in for 50 min.

It turned out pretty ok for a first try. The key is figuring out what size to cut the vegetable. Slow cookers like the potatoes need to be pretty small or you end up overcooking the other ingredients I think I will play with the spices next time around. This version was a little bland for my taste. I might try to get some lemon juice or zest mixed in there.

Give it a try!

20110929-174821.jpg

Categories: recipe
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

